So Your Butt Got Kicked By Aunties.

April 8, 2010 at 2:00 pm 2 comments

I signed myself up for twice-a-week aerobics class to get myself interested in working out. There are two different instructors and they take one class each per week. So tonight, I excitedly climbed into my gym gear and shoes, grabbed my bottle and towel and headed to the gym. This week, I must add, was the first week.

OH. MY. GOSH.

The instructor tonight had us using little hand weights. Bear in mind that my arms, once toned from swimming and working out with an elliptical machine and 1kg dumbbells at home, are now jelly-like. They wobble! Ditto for my legs.

Imagine the pain. I was using maybe 500g weights in each hand and every movement after a while freaking hurt. And then, she had us doing ab work. I was silently going *#@% in my head with each crunch. And don’t get me started on the tricep dips. Each millisecond was pure torture. Some (middle aged) ladies in the class barely perspired a drop and I was soaked and spent at the end of the class. The walk home was shaky and my legs pretty much felt like wobbly jello.

I treated myself to a cold shower and scrubbed my grimy self down with my (3-year-old but still fantastic) newly-opened tube of Body Shop Cranberry Body Scrub. Sidenote: Gotta get me more this Christmas! It is divine. Smells like honey and berries! And while in the shower a little thought popped into my head.

With each squat, your legs get stronger and your thigh muscles burn. With each bicep curl and whatever other thing you do with weights in your arms, you’re toning up your arms. It feels like torture now but is only good for you Whatever pain you feel is only temporal but  you can work through the pain because your mind is stronger than your body, and you are stronger, stronger than you think you are. No pain, no gain they say. I reckon it’s true.

I am going to attack every single workout until I am as fit as (or fitter than) those aunties who are kicking my arse at the moment. And of course ensure that I hit my goal of running a 5K in July and a 10K in November.

It’s not just about diabetes. It’s about getting my life back.

Entry filed under: Life is More Than Diabetes, Workin' Out.

You’ll Never Walk Alone. Adventures of Daena who lost her wallet.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ZoeSotet  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:39 am

    Awesome, sounds like it’s going well then :p

    You don’t have trouble with low blood sugars when you do so much exercise?

    Reply
    • 2. Daena  |  April 9, 2010 at 5:47 am

      I have the opposite problem actually. My BG shoots up for a few hours after exercise (as I found out last night when it decided to rise to 8) and then starts to go down. I had to eat half a slice of bread with peanut butter late last night to stave off a possible overnight low. Which is unlikely to happen since I have T2 and I don’t take insulin shots.

      But this morning I woke up at 6, and because I was dawdling in the shower and getting ready, it dropped to 5.5 before I stuffed some toast into my mouth. So for me, the lowered BGs is a slow downward spiral.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Diabetes 365


